The house seems quiet now after having had fun, games and laughter with the four children and their parents over the last few days.  So as I needed to see about a repair I went into Edinburgh where I noticed this strange structure at the Mound.  It is part of an exhibition encouraging people to be aware of the need to recycle and conserve the earth’s resources and shows some technological solutions towards becoming more ecofriendly.
This is a Smartflower with its giant solar panel petals open and then periodically its petals would fold up all together and it would turn.  It was demonstrating another form of solar power which could provide enough energy for a home of four at a time when people are having to be careful with their carbon footprint.  If I had the space and money I would consider buying one but of course I don’t have.
The SmartFlower is a unique intelligent solar panel system that tracks the sun throughout the day to create the most amount of power. When there's high-winds or bad weather, the system will fold up to protect itself. Once it passes, the system will open back up. At night, the smart solar system will completely fold down into its base.
Unfortunately the sleet was falling so the photo is not good.  By the time I arrived home from the bus stop I looked like a snowman. The snow was quite deep and piling up on the front windows so I was glad that I’d abandoned my plan to go to the Science Festival at the museum and travelled home before the roads became too bad.

(Thanks to Bobsblips for today's challenge - Structure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.