The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Strutting

The big bucks of the fallow herd are no longer loafing about on the other side of the river to the main herd. They are strutting their stuff, and the sound of their belching calls was echoing around the Park in the early morning. This fellow has clearly had an encounter with a rival. From this photo, it looks like he and his lady friends are eyeing up another contender, but from my vantage point I couldn't see him.

It was the coldest night of the season, and the frost was keen on the grass this morming. It was a bit of a wrench getting up in the dark after yesterday's exertions, but it was worth it for a walk in the park as the sun came up and the autumn colours glowed. Tomorrow we are promised foul weather and high winds, and away will go most of the autumn leaves. As I write this, the sky has clouded over after a brilliant wintery day.

An early blip for me. I may just join Wifie on the sofa for a night of Strictly entertainment. Then the clocks go back, bad news for Arnside sunsets as I usually don't get home in time.

I had difficulty choosing a blip tonight. This was the alternative.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.