Laudanum Spoon and Cup!

Anne gave me this medicine spoon years ago  -  and no she didn’t give me the Laudanum – Tincture of Opium  -  to go with it!  Laudanum used to be measured in drops  -  hence the hole in the middle of the spoon bowl. I don’t know what horn it is made from, but it would have belonged to a rich person, because the silver is hallmarked.  Elizabeth Barrett Browning was an addict and is said to take as much as 40 drops a day  -  http://mentalfloss.com/article/89268/lure-laudanum-victorians-favorite-drug  The cup has been in our family for probably over 200 years  -  a long line of Gamekeepers who probably used it as a whisky measure.  I expect it’s made of deer antler horn.  Why today’s blip?  Laudanum was also sold as a cough suppressant – something I could do with now!  Still, Benylin’s doing it’s work quite well  -  I hope:-    Spent all day yesterday thinking it was Thursday  -  but, of course, it wasn’t because today’s Thursday!! Which means that today is Agnetha’s birthday and not yesterday  -  lucky lady she can have two birthdays here  -  listen to this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unfzfe8f9NI

I’ll be watching Vera on ITV3 at 8 pm tonight  -  I know I’ve got that right because I’ve just checked it in my diary:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.