Red Balloon Rising

I tied it to your wrist

With a pretty pink bow, torn off

By the first little tug of wind.

I’m sorry.



I jumped to catch it, but not soon enough.

It darted away.



It still looked large and almost within reach.

Like a heart.



Watch, I said.

You squinted your little eyes.



The balloon looked happy, waving

Good-bye.



The sky is very high today, I said.

Red went black, a polka dot,



Then not. We watched it,

Even though we couldn’t



Spot it anymore at all.

Even after that.
By Laura Blossom

Dull but okayish - work in the garden and a wander down to the sea where a few abstractions were noted. The wind has now got up and Tough Soles are walking along a pretty exposed ridge today, pretty challenging I would have thought.

And a shame that Whensday didn't get going. There's always one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.