Lines

This wasn't the shot I was thinking of today, I simply saw it and grabbed it.

But anyway, while we are here ... We're lucky in NZ that a great deal of our power is generated by "clean" sources - around 60% I think. But like many places in the world not only have prices increased dramatically in the last few years, but so has demand, driven in many cases by inefficiency and laziness.

The market approach to this is build more power stations. Well, we're not that keen on damming rivers and destroying environments these days, and oil is going to run out at some stage. The best option is energy efficiency and simply reducing demand. I don't have the figures at hand, but I recall a fact to the effect that if all lights were converted to energy efficient bulbs in NZ we'd save the equivalent of an entire power station and not need a new one for XX years. With one relatively small change.

Sadly, our new government being very market focused, has just reversed this policy. I?ve just read a book, "Crap at the Environment". It's lightweight but good, sadly the title reflects our new government.

Reflective week? Yes, made some changes today. Restarted the exercise program (race getting closer) and arranged a meeting today with the Last Ocean guys tomorrow.

Edit: deciding to do some research, I found this company that designed NZ's power market. They call it a success, I'd call it a disaster. Un-f-ing believable ...

To quote "electricity generation isn't a natural monopoly business - market power can only persist in the presence of barriers to entry to generation"... Umm, a few billion for a power station. Yep, I'll build one next week. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.