ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Charlotte's Web.

Another misty, grey day here today, but not quite as bad as yesterday. I noticed this wee spider on the garden wall by our garage - all the webs stand out a mile in this weather, and although it's a bit of a cliché, I like this shot.

Mum made a lovely cooked breakfast for us this morning before we headed out to Harrogate to buy the ingredients for the Chinese Feast M and I are planning to cook for Mum and Dad tonight. We dropped Mum off at her favourite supermarket and made our way to a different one - what a mistake! It was really, really busy and poor Mum was waiting ages for us to come back. I think all the money we saved by choosing a less expensive shop was wasted on the petrol we used to get there via the most convoluted route (due to my ineptness at giving directions) too!

I was cheered up considerably by another bowl of Mum's Cullen Skink for lunch - yum. Mum, Dad, M and I then got our golfing stuff together and went for a game at Crimple Valley - the mist had started to clear but the course was still soaking wet, and had been for a few days. By the end of the first hole we were all caked in mud, and Mum and Dad had very wet feet (M and I had sensibly worn walking boots). On the second hole, Dad hit a lovely tee shot which landed right in the middle of the fairway... Unfortunately, when we got to it, it was buried about 3 inches into the wet ground and we had to dig it out with our fingers! It was so funny, I've never seen anything like it before. We all played fairly badly but I think we could legitimately blame it on the course conditions today :o) We had a lot of fun anyway, with Mum nearly hitting both me and Dad with the ball, and me taking quite a good pot-shot at M from a bunker.

(Vaguely offensive joke I heard last night...: "That golf ball was stuck in a bunker with no chance of getting out... A bit like Hitler")

When we got home, M and I made a selection of Chinese dishes for Mum and Dad - lemon chicken, black bean chicken, 5-spice-flavoured drumsticks and egg-fried rice - which Mum and Dad enjoyed immensely. It was a copy of the meal I made the girls last month and I was quite pleased with my second attempt, although it was definitely spicier this time; must have been particularly hot chillis!

We played a game of scrabble before bed which Mum won by 40 points - mainly due to her 50-point bonus on her first word which used all the tiles! I do enjoy a good scrabble game :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.