ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Mushroom.

Today's mushroom was in place of the shot I was planning of the deer at Studley Royal. Unfortunately I couldn't quite get close enough (I need a longer lens, I'm only really working with a 10-24mm and a 50mm) and since the stags were rutting it didn't seem too good an idea to make them cross! Mum, Dad, M and I headed out in the car (after ANOTHER super breakfast from Mum) and deer-stalked until we were icicles. The rutting males and their hareems were great to watch, just impossible to capture for a Blip. Luckily on the way back to the car I spotted this mushroom cluster, which looked quite eerie and fairy-like with a narrow apeture.

After our chilly walk, we all headed off to Leeds for a wander around the shopping centres. M and I picked up a present for his Mum, whose birthday was earlier in the week, and then a couple of pairs of gloves for ourselves as it was still freezing! We had a coffee and a cake in Costa which was awesome... Rasperry bakewell, mmmmh!

On our way back we stopped off in Harrogate at Betty's tearoom for a box of biscuits for M's Mum too. They had some lovely wee cakes but after my bakewell I felt I shouldn't be greedy... And I had a fair idea that Mum's evening meal was going to be lovely (which it was)!

We spent the evening relaxing with a bottle of wine while I sorted out some backblips and edited my photos. This one is SOOC apart from straightening and increasing the blacks by 2 points - that little 50mm lens again - it's definitely been my best photography-related buy.

Tomorrow we're meeting my friends for lunch, and it will be my 365th Blip. How fast the year has gone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.