ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

M.

Hello Winter. There's no denying you're here now, hiding under the guise of Autumn - you have arrived with icy winds, horizontal rain and dark mornings and evenings. Today I walked to my secondment office in a dry, but cold morning - but instead of the sky getting brighter after dawn, it just proceeded to darken from 8am until the rain broke and left everything dripping and dank. A perfect evening for the cinema then!

I got home from work and wolfed down the leftover curry from last night, before bumming a lift from M down to the shopping centre to meet V, L and G from work to see Open Road. Unfortunately, we must have been the only people wanting to see the film, so it had been cancelled. We ended up watching the new Tim Burton film, Frankenweeny, which I have to say I didn't enjoy at all. I found it quite tear-jerking (who wouldn't be sad to see a small child lose his only friend - a beloved pet), but also quite disturbing, with very dark bits throughout. I don't think it sent out a particularly good message; not important in most films - except this one is aimed at children. Not only that, it was pretty boring - missing the jokes of the most clever children's films that make them accessible to adults. Still, after we'd used up two Orange 2-4-1 codes and a Cineworld card, it was only £2.20 each - so no huge loss. I'm just stunned that this was the film that premiered London Film Festival!

When I got home M had been battling with the overflowing washing basket, and we finished our big clean with a hoover and a wipedown of the guest bathroom. I even manged to iron the napkins and tablecloth for tomorrow's big dinner - I felt like Mrs Tiggywinkle. Can't wait to have friends round for a big meal at the house tomorrow :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.