Lock Cottage

You may remember that about 10 days ago I blipped the wrecks at Topsham and in the background on the Exmister side was Lock Cottage. Today I went to Exminster and drove through the RSPB reserve on the marshes to park by the canal. I walked up the path to the footbridge from where you can catch the ferry to Topsham. Crossing the bridge over the canal takes you to the land between the canal and the River Exe and that's where Lock Cottage is situated, right beside the old lock which is in a sad state of repair.

I've got no idea what this bit of metal is. Maybe it was used to hoist up, or swing the bridge open in past times. On this occasion I've used it to provide some foreground interest for my wideangle shot. I've added a few more here if you'd like to take a look.

I hope you have a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.