Gospel Pass, Wales

I picked up on this route in a message board discussion on great roads, and thought I'd give it a bash. I think I have a new favourite. I also think Morrigan did a fabulous job for a big fat girl! The Gospel Pass lies between Abergavenny and Hay on Wye, in South Wales, and is the highest public road in Wales. There was still snow on the banks in places!

For much of it the road is single track. For parts of it there is water running across the road from the adjacent fields, and in some especially exciting bits there is a testing collection of thick wet mud, adverse camber, tight turns and ball-numbing drops to the valley below. The loose gravel was there just to make it interesting.

Overall 146 miles of fun. And one very dirty bike!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.