Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Blipping row!

I had a row for this blip today! In my defence I didn't know the play had officially started, because there was a group on stage playing for about 20 minutes before the 2:30pm started. Now being an experienced theatre goer I know full well not to take pictures when a performance starts, so I wouldn't have done it knowingly. Anyway no harm done!

Today's play at the New Theatre, Cardiff was Julius Caesar by the Royal Shakespeare Company and a quite impressive interpretation it was as well. It was also a star studded cast with Adjoa Andoh (Martha Jones' mother in Doctor Who), Ray Fearon, Patterson Joseph, Jeffrey Kissoon and Cyril Nri the main names. You may not know their names so well but you will know their faces when you see them.

The play has some of the most memorable quotes from Shakespeare's plays like "friends, Romans, countryman, lend me your ears" and "cry havoc and let slip the dogs of war", if you're a Trekkie you will know that quote from Star XI The Undiscovered Country and Klingon General Chang. Disappointingly they didn't have "infamy, infamy, they've all got it in for me" which I thought was a key part of the play. ;)

Slight drawback today was the two ladies in front who couldn't keep still for 5 minutes, either they must have had fleas or ants in their pants!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.