Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Touchdown!

Who would have thought way back in 1982 when the new young upstart TV channel, Channel Four decided to show American Football, that just over thirty years later we would have two proper season NFL games in this country? Interest in the NFL now is just phenomenal with 83,559, including me, at Wembley tonight to watch the San Francisco 49ers play the Jacksonville Jaguars. And whilst the game itself was a more one sided affair than the Minnesota Vikings versus Pittsburgh Steelers game earlier in the season, it still whetted the appetite of all UK NFL fans. And for me it was great to finally be able to say I’ve seen my team, the San Francisco 49ers play live and celebrate with a 42-10 win.

The day started early as I joined the many fans from South Wales heading east to Wembley on the buses put on by a national bus company, and it finished late as I finally got home at 1:30am. But I loved the experience and will probably return next year to watch the Oakland Raiders play the Miami Dolphins.

Back Blip:

Saturday: The Biro is mightier than the quill?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.