Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

The Biro is mightier than the Quill?

As you will have no doubt picked up by now if you’re a regular viewer of this journal, you will know that I love the theatre and enjoy Shakespeare as well. Today I took a trip to Stratford-Upon-Avon with my good friend StrictlyDavina to watch David Tennant in Richard II at the Royal Shakespeare Company theatre.

As a history lover as well I should really have known the story of Richard II but I must admit to not realising the intrigue, betrayal and ultimate downfall of his reign. Despite this being one of Shakespeare’s more serious plays, he still manages to work humour into the story, with either a play on words or a piece of acting required by the cast. It was an excellent production and David, as expected, was marvellous as Richard II, and the rest of the cast were magnificent as well.

One slight drawback though, I don’t think a biro was invented in the time of Richard II. Lol!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.