It's a Geeks Life

By geekmeek

Sea View

This was the view on the beach this morning. I was rudely pulled from the comfort of a plush hotel room (our favourte place as we married there 10 years ago) for the purposes of photography. Knowing how cold it had been the night before we wrapped up warm. No sooner had we got out, it started raining. We sheltered in the car and it passed. Out we went again after removing rain from lenses and filters..

The sun started to peep above the clouds and i was getting some lovely light. A voice behind me said, I've had enough, I'm cold and I want breakfast... (Mr GeekMeek).

I politely told him I wasn't going anywhere and so he sat in the car and waited.

It wasn't the best morning photographically, especially as I'd had to swapped the camera yesterday and they gave me a new one and some of my settings wern't set and I faffed a bit until I got those sorted. My last camera was suffering from terrible sensor dust and at 3 weeks old I wasn't having it.

I shot 140 shots this morning and upon reviewing the results the problem is still there. Given that we made them clean the sensor before we left the shop, you don't expect to get 30 to 40 spots of dust when you haven't removed the lens or barely shot anything...grrr, not happy. (I've never experienced anything quite like it)

Anyway, we had a lovely time, the hotel and food was spot on as usual (The Pier at Harwich) followed by a visit to the Mum in Law and the a long trawl back around the M25 in all that rain.

However, the trip was to celebrate my new job. After a manic week with 4 possible roles and some decision making, one role stood out as the one for me and the call was made.

Of course I need to get all those jobs around the house done now before I get back to the rat race..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.