Man, Mountain or Fish

By StevieFish

Faster than me

I used to cycle into work every day, pretty much without fail. There were occasional lazy bus days, usually after a night at the whisky society, but they were the exception, the 'treat'. Of late I haven't been cycling much. Like Wingpig I have been noticing bikes more, and cyclists too, perhaps because I am not actually cycling myself.

I am walking in now, which is slower, and in many ways more enjoyable, for one I get to see the dawn which can be pretty stunning. If the correct combination of cloud cover, time, and light come together - this didn't happen today - it can set you up for the day with a contented smile on your face, knowing that life isn't all keich. Also, it gives me the opportunity to take photos on the way in.

That's not really possible on a bike. The walk takes me just over half an hour (I walk pretty fast in the mornings) however, I don't think I'm anywhere near as fast as this lass.

So why dont I cycle? the icy paths and roads for one (I skid about on my feet, never mind two wheels), the short journey time and constant uphil is two (I don't like the thought of doing myself serious injury going up dublin street 'cos I haven't warmed up properly first) and three - most importantly - they've shut Hawthornvale. Once they reopen it I'll think about cycling again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.