Blue sky mind

In several Buddhist traditions, meditators investigate what arises in the mind in a period of quiet sitting. We look at our thoughts, become conscious of them as thoughts, and remind ourselves that though our thoughts seem real, they aren't. They're just thoughts. "I did that badly," "I want that shirt/device/car/person," "That person just insulted me!" "I'd like a bowl of ice cream." Thoughts arise all the time, they pass away and we're onto the next thought. "Blue sky mind" is the presence of consciousness above the thoughts, the ability to witness the thoughts and not cling to them or follow them with thoughts like, "I should have done that differently," "I'll give him a piece of my mind," "I'm going to go online and buy that thing." Let them go, we say to ourselves. Thoughts keep arising; you can't stop the mind. It is the nature of mind to generate thoughts. But I'm not my mind. I can attend to the mind's activity, notice it, and be the observer, the "witness" that watches the mind. My mind went wild after I posted my latest Medium photo-essay last night. I was self-critical: I said too much, I didn't say enough, everything I said was obvious and unnecessary, maybe parents will be offended that I posted photos of their children without getting written releases. Anything but blue sky mind. And yet I went to bed, did some deep breathing, and eventually let it all go. Just thoughts.

I'm pleased with Medium as a blog platform. I think it's a good way to share photographs. I love the clarity of reproduction, the ease of use. It's a gallery show without the expense: no printing, framing, and hanging; no wine and cheese and nervous conversation. No having to put price tags on the work, no sad notes from friends in faraway places who can't get to the show. Just boom. Publish. There it is and will be, at least for the foreseeable future. No taking the show down, hauling framed photos out to the car, wondering where to store them. I'm still trying to learn what it means to "follow" someone, how to connect with the various compendia or "magazines" of Medium articles, how to invite people you don't know to your "show." If you didn't catch it yesterday,  here it is

P.S. Warmest day of the year so far! 68F/19C. Bliss. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.