Silly Saturday: Rainy Day Gardening

Lots of silliness for today's blip.

I'd hoped for a dry afternoon, as I reckoned it was time to do the annual spiking of the lawn. I may be silly to persist in doing this every year as I'm not convinced it works - they say it's supposed to aid the health of the grass roots and thereby help to keep the lawn relatively moss free: well I hate to think how much moss we'd have if I didn't spike it! (Probably something to do with the fact that there's only a thin layer of topsoil then lots of clay beneath that.) But it's good exercise anyway.

Then it started to rain. Quite hard. Hmmm. The Editor certainly thought I was a bit silly as I decided to go ahead anyway - it's easier to do when the ground is pretty damp and therefore quite soft. But I pointed out that silly is good on Saturdays, as it provides a blippertunity.

After I'd finished I photographed my trusty lawn spiker for my blip - its showing its age but it still works even though it lost a tooth some years back. "Blip sorted," I thought. Then I looked back at last year's blips and realised that I'd blipped it on 30th April last year (whoopee, I'm 3 weeks ahead of myself this year!). Silly me.

"Could I do an almost identical blip today?" - I'd rather not. So I did a bit of silly fiddling in Photoshop (layering a high-contrast mono version over the colour version, with a "Subtract" blend mode on the top layer). After all, I was a teenager in the late 1960s so why shouldn't I go a bit psychedelic? (Before you ask, no I never dabbled in mind-altering substances so I can't blame my current silliness on that!). You can see that I had my wellies on of course. And the aerator had picked up a lot of dead leaves on its tines.

I hope you don't think this is too silly a blip. Many thanks anyway, as always, to admirer for hosting Silly Saturday. Have a great weekend everyone - preferably a silly one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.