Derelict Sunday: Lawn Aerator

Lawn care can be quite time-consuming when you're lucky enough to have a lawn the size of a tennis court (indeed we understand that many years before we moved in it was a tennis court; we're not sure how that worked as the neighbours' windows must have been at considerable risk...!).

Anyway we've learnt that we do need to give our lawn Tender Loving Care if we want to avoid it turning into a moss patch. Spiking it and scarifying it is said to help, and I think it does.

Our trusty lawn aerator is rather long in the tooth these days (it's over 30 years old) and as you can see from the photo it's looking somewhat rusty & derelict. The springs are not what they used to be (they often snap, which means I have to overstretch what's left of the spring to reattach the remains) and as you can see it's lost one of its teeth tines, poor thing. I know the tine must be somewhere buried in the lawn but I don't know where...

I reckoned it would suffice for a quick blip on a busy day of gardening, and I think it's derelict enough to qualify for a DS tag! (Many thanks to Marlieske for hosting DS this month.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.