Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Flooded

A really calm morning.  Too cloudy for sunrise fireworks, but a slight mist added to the softness of the scenes.

I'm often a creature of habit, walking in the same direction on favourite walks.  For once I decided to reverse one of my local walks, just to see if the views I came across would provide new inspiration for images.  I needn't have worried, the rain we've had over recent days and weeks have left one of the local fields completely waterlogged.  Near perfect reflections were on offer, although the local wildlife were in danger of spoiling it.  Swans and ducks were looking to take advantage of the new pool that had suddenly appeared.

Unfortunately, one consequence of the weather was the Weston Horse Trials, which had to be cancelled because of the condition of the course.  We only found that out after driving over, but still had an enjoyable hour or so walking through the estate.  I spied a swan on the nest, a sure sign for some shots of cygnets in due course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.