D77

By D77

Moon and Mosque

It is said that you learn something new every day (unless you are one of my current colleagues, in which case you don't learn anything except how to be thick and irritating).

This evening, I learned that the moon rises at all manner of silly times, not just at night like I thought. I've been waiting to get this shot since I started blipping again in August and thought it would just be down to blind luck. I often wondered why sometimes you can see it and why at other times you can't until I happened upon this fantastic website.

If you know about these things, you might think I'm a bit thick myself for not knowing it. Knowledge, however, can be a bit subjective sometimes, as pointed out in the rather fantastic 'Slumdog Millionaire' which I saw today. Really, what a great film, and how gorgeous is Freida Pinto?! Kate's second place position (behind Larissa of course) is in serious jeopardy.

This is the moon setting at around half past eight. Tomorrow it sets at half past nine (and the day after at half past ten etc.) so I don't suppose this particular image will be possible again for a while. I'm sure I could work it out by referring to the altitude statistics, but I can't really be arsed.

This evening I also learned that the moon cares not that you would like it to fall smack bang in the middle of the minarets, settling as it did for almost doing a vertical drop right after I took this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.