If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Wordsworth's Daffodils.

Every April we go down to the Lake to see "Wordsworth's Daffodils".  Dorothy Wordsworth recorded in her journal for 15th April 1802 seeing the Daffodils at Glencoyne bay.  The little promontory is now called Wordsworth's Point.

It is generally accepted that it was this experience as they travelled between Pooley Bridge and Grasmere which inspired his poem Daffodils.

The first verse runs as follows:

I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host, of golden daffodils;
Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

I have blipped the daffodils many times (well about 3) before so this time I tried for a shot that summed up the fourth line.  Previously I have been inspired by the lines 5 & 6.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.