If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Male Sparrowhawk.

I had taken bird shots earlier in the day and was quite pleased with them.  However at  one point Clickychick was at the window and started making sounds of there is something exciting out here.   So I went across.  There on top of the post which had the squirrel feeder on it (until we saw the one with pox and were advised to stop feeding) was this gorgeous male Sparrowhawk.

Clickychick had time to go and get her camera, change the lens and still get shots.  I am not sure what it had caught, examining the feathers after it left suggested either Blue Tit or Great Tit.

I am aware some will think I should either not be attracting birds to the feeders or trying to prevent the hawk having a chance.  My view is it is a bird and has to eat just like the ones I put food out for.

Unless an animal/bird is out of its ecological niche like Grey Squirrels they won't have a big impact on the ecology of the area.  They have evolved alongside their prey and wouldn't survive if they wiped out the prey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.