An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

A fly, of some sort or other

I'm not a fly expert, but I know it's not a mosquito, other than that I have no idea. I'm just quite pleased with this picture, given that I don't have a macro lens or even a camera with changeable lenses and given that I have to be 1cm from the bug to get this sort of shot. (That will all be changing soon! Or soon'ish anyway, or at least in the not too distant future.)

BIG bug here

Yes, I think I'm about ready to look for a DSLR. The main question is Canon or Nikon? I have a strange attraction towards Canon, but I'm not sure if I'm being unfair and not giving Nikon enough consideration? (My old SLR was a Minolta, so I don't have previous lenses or anything to make me favour one over the other.) I still have a lot more research to do and I'm not the sort of person who makes hasty decisions (I have only been thinking about it for about 4 years, after all...)

Today was the Carnevale (school fair) of our old Montessori school and son S was playing in the band. I still have a deep affection for the school, after leaving 3 years ago, as we spent 8 happy years there (2 in playgroup and 6 at school). This will be his last time ever playing in the band there (other than rehearsals for the rest of this term) as he is moving up to High School next year (now that's a scary thought - for me more than him I think!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.