CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Feeding time in the garden

I took a quick break after the rain stopped and wandered around the garden. Yesterday I brought several plants out of their winter abode in the cabin and put them on the patio to get washed and watered by the light rain. The temperature is just warm enough outside for them  to not be in danger.

I was looking at the Sollya heterophylla, one of my favourite plants, which I bought last year and I was tidying up dead leaves and examining its condition. The I spotted (sorry) this ladybird steadily wandering over its branches presumably looking for greenfly or some such small insects to ear. I didn't see it catch any but it seemed to stop and pay close attention to various parts of the plant. I wondered whether it was finding secreted sugars that would give it energy. It didn't fly at all so I presume the temperature is still a bit low. I am worried about the prevalence of the new ladybirds that seem to swarm in their thousands and that are thought to be replacing native types. But I do rather like them. I'm not sure whether this is a native one or not. I gather you can tell them apart as it is something to do with the number of their spots and their colour. I shall endeavour to learn more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.