CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Turkey and goose eggs at the farmshop

I arrived just before the farm shop closed at lunchtime today and Sally who served me was in a rush. I managed a chat and after I'd been served I went to the car to fetch a camera. I couldn't resist recording the special  eggs on offer today, which are not regular items in the shop. I liked the photo of the turkey which lays the eggs. No sign of any geese however.

Ashley asked if I'd ever eaten either of them and I had to admit I hadn't. One of the men working for him came up to me and told me how twenty-five years ago he used to work with his family keeping more than 400 turkeys just a short way up the road.

I think I might find these eggs too rich. Ashley said they are used in making cakes quite a lot and he rather suggested that he didn't think that I was likely to do that. How wrong he might be.

Sally showed me a double-page spread in the centre of the Western Daily Press regional paper from a couple of days ago, with a large picture of all her family in the farm shop. A long article accompanied several other smaller pictures of her and her two brothers, Ashley and Keith, all looking very jovial, as they seem to all their customers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.