Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Bike Fair

A mild day for the Sunday bike ride. Slowly getting fast as I do the same route as two weeks ago. Only a few cyclists out though. Its out through Bush, down to Auchendinny. I am reminding myself not to stop for photos as my partner and I are going out in the afternoon.

I climb out from Auchendinney, then turn left on to the Top Gear road over Mount Lothian, then on to the Fallatoll road to get to the A703. On my way I pass a cyclist who appeared to have a mechanical. It turns out he was making minor adjustments to the rear derailleur.

Its down to Eddleston, then turn right on to the Meldons road. The rider  passed,passes me. I hold on to his wheel for a wee while, before he cycles off. At the top, he isn't that far in front of me, but I let it go.

On the A72, I head west. I see a cyclist in the distance, and I am slowly catching him up. I take the B road to Romannobridge, and I can see the cyclist in front is the same guy who zoomed off.

On the A701 I turn left, then right off the A road on to the Bogsbank road. Its a bit of a climb, but at the top,the road turns NE and the wind is behind me. The wind stays on my back as I cycle through West Linton. then its on to Deanfoot road. On the climb up from Whitfield, I catch and overtake the cyclist. (a brief yippee n my head). Then we both zoom across the moor road, and then zoom down to Penicuik.

The other cyclist is only going as far as Hillend, so I let him go, and take my own route home through Bush to Hillend and Fairmilehead. I get home before 1, giving me time for a shower before lunch. The route can been seen at Relive. 80.8km, just over 50.2 miles.

After lunch, my partner and I go down to Out of the Blue for a cycle fair. There wasn't as much as I thought there would be. My partner enquires about the Urban Arrow bike from Laid Back Bike. There a choice between this , and an e-bike with a trailer. As the cargo bike might not be used that much, it might be better just to buy an e-bike

There are several frame restorers and a couple of second hand bike shops there. My partner, and occasionally me, chat with friends / acquaintances. The blip shows a stall with vintage bikes. One of them even has wheels that have a wooden rim. I don't fancy doing 50 miles on them. No gears, and the brakes look decidedly dodgy.

After we visit the only charity shop that is open, then get some coffee and cake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.