a lifetime burning

By Sheol

A sorry tale

Tiny Tuesday: A sorry tale

Over the last few weeks we've been watching a couple of blackbirds who had paired off together this Spring.  There was clear evidence that they were building a nest in a nearby hedge of ivy which separates our garden from next door.  We took great delight in watching what they were getting up to.  A visit by a magpie the other day worried us, but he didn't seem to have spotted their nest so all was well.

Unfortunately, we arrived home today, to find that our elderly neighbours had paid a Gardner to chop down the ivy hedge.  He must have found the nest part way through,  because he left it carefully balanced on the top of what was left, complete with this sole egg.  Cathy and I were very moved by this small tragedy. Silly to be upset by this I suppose, in the light of what is currently happening in Syria and elsewhere.

I suppose that the good news is that, had this been done in a few weeks time the blackbirds would have depleted their energies only to loose their newly hatched babies.  Blackbirds can have two broods in a year so hopefully they will  able to try again later in the year, but it probably won't be in our garden.  It is a tragedy none the less.  Our enjoyment of the garden is lessened as a result.

I've been recording the band tonight, so I am slipping even further behind in keeping up with blip and the journals of others.  I will try to catch up later this week but I seem to have a lot on and will need to spend some time editing, mixing, and mastering the recordings.  I anticipate that there will be some overdubs etc required as well.  I could do with 48 hours in the day really!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.