Wales is hilly

Who knew?!

Started off in the fog, which quickly turned to rain. Turns out that you absolutely cannot trust BBC weather. Bit of a rainy slog up the Hope Valley then a glorious descent into Bishop's Castle. I'm such a loser and I love being outside in the countryside so much that you may have heard me whoop whooping to myself. Then I hit the hills and I'm so out of cycling shape that I had to walk up a lot of them. I wish I was a bit more fearless, as I tend to take the down hills clutching my brakes. Sadly, this meant that I had to take a brief detour en route to my B&B to get my brake pads replaced. I'll never be a speedy downhiller and I might just have to pay the price in endless pads.

Quite cold and wet at this point so it was delightful to get to my accommodation to be welcomed with a lovely big room, a delightful hot shower, a good cup of tea and a lift down to the pub. My hosts are delightful and wouldn't see me riding my bike back down to the village. A beer and a hearty meal in me and now I am quite ready for bed.

Hopefully the weather might cheer up a bit tomorrow. Similar distance and similar hills...I need something to help make it a bit more pleasant!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.