Mission Accomplished ....

.... but not photographically.

My old mate told me of an oak tree that is home to a little owl so I went to check it out. Turns out it is very near to the garage that my son takes his Alfas to. I examined the tree from one side, then followed a footpath so that I could look at the other side. No owl.

I saw a sign for the Woodhall Estate woods so off I yomped across a ploughed field. The footpath in the woods was like a stream but I absolutely loved it there. I didn't see another soul all afternoon. Birdsong was echoing and bumbles buzzing. No traffic or human sounds at all, apart from the odd aeroplane high above. I saw fallow and muntjac deer and there were wild primroses underfoot. I kept hearing Woody's laughing call.

I photographed this chiffchaff on the way and stopped and waited for it as I returned. I knew it would turn up as they have quite small territories. Even though it is directly above me my pic isn't great as the light was poor.

As I left the woods I decided to check out the oak again for the owl, positive thinking as usual. There it was! I got one shot just as a man and his dog approached. They stopped but I gestured to them to continue as little owls aren't easily spooked. This one was. :( My image has a cross of twigs over the owl's eyes. The man told me that he had heard about the owl, walks his dog past the tree every day and has never seen it. After a dull and misty day it started to pour as I returned to the car.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.