Holyfield Lake

Had a lovely walk at Fishers Green with my old mate. I haven't seen him for a while so I was chatting nineteen to the dozen instead of concentrating on togging. We missed quite a few decent shots. He has shown me exactly where to listen and look for nightingales when they arrive in a few days time. 

We spent a pleasant time in a newly repaired hide which we had to ourselves. We saw a heron arrive at its nest in the pussy willow with a twig in its beak. A pair of great crested grebes were mirroring one another and we hoped that they might do the 'penguin dance' but no luck. A large group of pochards, mainly drakes, swam back and forth in front of the hide making a strange squeaking noise that neither of us had heard before. A duck is giving a drake a telling off in my montage. The windsurfer had the lake to himself.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.