Well.... You Have 2 Legs........

Today we went to catch the ferry to Daufuskie Island.  This is a very isolated island that has a remarkable history prior to the Civil War.  After the was, time stood still here because of the isolation.  There was minimal influence from the outside civilization so the language, customs and people remained pretty much the same as they were in Africa before captured and brought to America.  The Gullah language is still used today by the inhabitants.
      Extra #1 was me hanging on to the golf cart as we spun around the island.  The seat was narrow and I had to lean back, hold on with 2 hands and spread my feet wide apart to prevent myself from bouncing off the golf cart!   That was one wild ride.....   all early afternoon!
   Extra 2 was a boat racing the ferry out of the sound...  since it is a fishing boat, they must have been in a big hurry to go catch their meals!
    Extra 3 is a Tern that decided to befriend me, er maybe intimidate as it looked me dead in the eye!
     Extra 4 was a look down the beach at a outdoor gazebo, on the ocean side of a home.  It looked beautiful!
    We had a blast today.  Riding the ferry for 45 mins was blast to my past as parent owned a boat when I was a teenager and we took the boat from Montreal, to Erie Canal, to Hudson River and New York, to Long Island Sound to Cape Cod to Maine.  I pretty much spent all of my teenage years on that boat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.