The fam

Max and I are going to Montpellier tomorrow so today was mainly prep for the trip.

I met a lady at the career carousel day at Gulli’s school whose daughter wants to be a songwriter and she asked me if I would help her, she wanted more than a chat so I charged her for an hour, she’s a lovely bright year 7 girl, she was very impressed with my studio, I talked her through some different writing approaches and we analysed some of her favourite songs looking at the structures, we talked through the job each section of the song does, I showed her one of my sessions and played her the tracked and harmonised vocals to show her how the overall sound was created. I suggested how she could write songs with her friend, they have iPhones and a piano and they can sing, that’s all you need to get your ideas down, she has some other equipment but it’s not set up yet and she was pleased to hear she didn’t need to wait, I played her some snippets of me me writing with friends on guitar to show that it was possible, today was about demystifying the process and encouraging her to finish ideas,
I reassured her that not all songs will turn out well but you can always keep elements of them and match them with other ideas at a later date. Her Mum emailed me later to say that she’s was very inspired and would like to see me again once she’s had a crack at finishing her song. I’m glad it went well! I haven’t done any formal teaching before although I have given talks so this is all new to me! I just charged her what Gulli’s guitar teacher charges me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.