MerlinJ

By MerlinJ

To See

A contemplative blip today - taken in the quiet after the service when most people had gone. I loved the horizontals and verticals.

Today's service was a quiet time of reflection for me in the middle of a manic month. The minister told us about a French philosopher who said that the whole of human experience can be summed up in the verb "To See". The quality of your seeing will determine the quality of your being. I thought that was very appropriate for my blip experience, where I am developing the quality of my seeing all the time. I am also learning to recognise other people's experiences through the quality of their seeing, as represented in their blips.

Our church is one of the few remaining churches where the box pews remain, but they can be taken out to enable a traditional "long table" communion to be celebrated. This is where the whole congregation take communion around a single table, rather than taking turns to go up to the altar as they do in most CofE churches, or taking communion in the pews which is more common in Church of Scotland churches.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.