earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Five Years

His name was Mikalo - short for Michelangelo. He cut such a striking figure that he was easy to approach. This was my 1,825th portrait for my Face by Face journal and one of those days when I think I preferred the colour version. It's now five whole years, during which time I’ve not missed a single blip. When asked if I would cheat if I happened not to get a shot one day, there was no need to think about my response. I’d have to leave a gap. It would defeat the purpose otherwise.

My portrait journal is a very personal one. I don’t actively promote it or engage very much there, unless asked a direct question. It’s simply a record of my life through the people I chance to meet. There’s not much that can be said about that. It is what it is.

The reason I continue is because of the value it adds to every single day of my life. Being naturally introverted - to quite an extreme - it could be all too easy on most days to retreat into my bubble and not engage with anyone.There’d be the odd nod or smile to people I’d encounter, but not much more. And that would be terribly sad. I’d be missing out on so much.

This project gives me a reason to stop and talk to people, something I’ve never been much predisposed to do. I’ve always been perfectly happy to beaver away inside that bubble of mine. I’ve found that it’s the conversation with a fellow human being that’s the really important thing here. This project is far more about that engagement than the photography - although it would never happen without that need to take a photograph in the first place. There has to be a reason to stop someone.

I’m often asked how on earth I manage to find a willing subject every day. It really isn’t difficult. Most folk like to be acknowledged. I like to think that I’m honouring them in the act of asking for a photograph. They may well say no, but I invariably put a smile on their face in the process. It’s been suggested that I’m brave, that I must have a lot of courage to do this thing. That’s not the case. All that’s required is a simple human curiosity. The rest follows from that. 

I used to think that there was very little skill involved in these portraits. I’ve changed my mind about that. I’m sure that I’ve evolved all kinds of subliminal techniques that would likely be more obvious to someone watching. They are not to me. The method of approach, steering the subject to the right place, getting them relaxed: they’ve all become instinctive now. It’s just something I do. It’s hard to imagine that I’ll ever stop, at least all the while I can get out every day.

There must be a good number of you who drop by quietly, plus a few who leave their calling card. Many thanks to you all. It’s very much appreciated, even if I don’t often express my thanks directly. I do take considerable pride in my other journal, and in this particular achievement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.