Down in One!

I woke up at 8am and checked my messages as Alan was due to land at 7.30am, but they'd landed early and he was already on his way and said he'd be home by about 8.30am. So I got up and quickly got ready and had just got downstairs when his car pulled up.  He said he'd slept on the flight from Dubai to London so wanted to go out and get some fresh air once he'd showered and changed, and he was hungry so we decided to go out for brunch.

We went to the Art Cafe in Rottingdean and had Eggs Benedict and then went for a walk along the undercliff, and ended up walking all the way to the marina.  It was dry but there was a sea fret and although the sun kept trying to burn through, it didn't manage it until very late in the afternoon.  It was bright though and the sea was very calm, and there weren't many people around, so it was a very peaceful walk.  

When we got to the marina, the fishermen had not long since arrived with their catch, and as a result there were a lot of seagulls flying around the boats and we watched a few stealing fish!  We watched this one swallow the fish whole and you can see from the second of my extras that it has a big lump in it's neck - this was the fish!  We went to one of the cafes for a drink and a sit down before heading back, and we walked 5 miles in total.

It was about 3.30pm when we got home and I don't know where the rest of the day has gone - well I guess I do, I've been researching inflatable hot tubs!  I've been wanting one for the last couple of years and our intention is to do something with the land at the side of the house and to put one there, but until that's done, it can go on the raised terrace at the back of the house.  Anyway, Aldi had one on offer for nearly half the price of what the same brand is on Amazon, so I called their customer services to see if there was any stock in our local stores.  As luck would have it, they said the Lewes store had four, so  I jumped in the car and headed over there.  I couldn't see any, so I asked an assistant and he went away to check and came back and said they were in the warehouse but they'd go and get me one.  You can guess what tomorrow's job will be!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.