It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Happy 200th wet one toooo meee!

200th Blip today. Awful image so had to "manipulate" it a little!

I woke up and it was pissing down outside. I had a run to do too which should have been done last night but I got distracted and wasn't in the mood.

I was planning a long one in the hills so packed up my waterproof etc. My Ipod went in my bum-bag (fanny pack if you're from USA..... but that's just wrong) and set off with walking poles in hand and some techno in ear! It didn't seem too cold but the rain was lashing down. The climb up Coombes Edge was fine but the top was shrouded in cloud. I soon caught up and passed a group of mountain bikers which made me feel good. In fact, Rosemary often says the bike is slower than foot so I should chill when going really slow on the MTB. I struggle with the concept, but today affirmed that Rosemary was right! I waited on the MTBers at the top so I could maybe get a picture to remind me in the future, and I had to wait 4 mins.

Visibility was almost nil up on the ridge so, rather than go across the normal field, I followed the it round until I found the path to descent the Mares Back towards Chunal. I was loving the sheer awfulness of the weather.

The wind was whipping up and the rain was relentless as I crossed the A624 at the Grouse Inn and headed across Chunal Moor , turning towards the Cairn on Burnt Hill. The going became really tough as the path was totally waterlogged, with little 'pop-up' burns criss-crossing it at regular intervals Trip... splosh...crackle....wtf? Crackle? An electrical crackle in my ear! Eeek, the bum-bag had leaked and my Ipod was slightly wet (it's not alive yet but I still hold out hope). Shit happens!

I've been missing Rosemary all week, feeling a bit sad and sorry for myself. But in the cloud, pissing rain, wind and sheer isolation, I felt happy again and not lonely at all. Every silver lining has a cloud though and my hands started to get really cold, in fact I was really really cold. I was now descending and couldn't travel fast enough to generate enough heat. I had a momentary though that I would really be in the shit and at serious risk from hypothermia if I so much as slipped and twisted my ankle, but I was in a 'man-up' mood and enjoying the misery. There was an option to head over towards Snake Pass but that would have been stupid. Rather, I headed down towards the main road and Glossop.

I could run now, and had to as my train was due in 14 minutes time. Running hard was tough as my quads were really cold and not in the mood to be pushed. I couldn't do the clips on my walking poles either, as my hands were so cold, and had to run with them fully extended. Yes, ya beauty....I had made it by one minute after travelling 17km on foot. Eek....where is the train? Blahhh, replacement bus service again! I ran outside to see the damn thing departing empty towards home. Never mind, off to the cafe to warm up!

Hmmm, 4 staff standing chatting and me standing waiting. It wouldn't happen in NTP. Eventually, I was served by someone that others could justifiably call an imbecile, but my Buddhist tendencies prevented me...."£2.50, please?" she said. "Are you sure, I have a cake that is £2.80 and a hot chocolate". "Yes, £2.50 please" as I gave in and handed over a £5er. "I need another 30p" she said! "Imbecile" I thought! "Would you like a tip?........f**k-off" went through my mind too. I burnt my tongue on the hot chocolate. "Karma" I hear you say!

I was meant to have swimming tonight, but the thought of the extra travel without the trains running got the better of me. TV instead!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.