Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Testing the waterproofs

Today I took Mum and our friend, J, to Higham Hall in Cumbria, ready for a 5 day painting course. What miserable weather. It rained all the way there and back. The Lake District mountains were shrouded in rain, cloud and mist.

Higham is a lovely place to go for a course, but it is always better when one member of staff is not on duty. We were early and names could not be taken until the rooms were ready (?!) It became rather irritating as more people arrived and were puzzled by the brusque reception. I can't say she was having a bad day because she is always like this (perhaps I should be glad this was not a bad day). Eventually I was able to carry Mum's luggage upstairs and make the return journey home via Keswick, where I bought socks and a water bladder for my new backpack.

Everywhere walkers were arriving from their day out. I told this group my photo was entitled "testing the waterproofs" and they seemed quite happy.

Did you notice the name Paraffin Alley? That sign has been there just since 2008. Locals had always used this name because an ironmonger kept supplies of paraffin and there was a "faint" odour. Some local business owners were opposed to the name but they were overruled.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.