Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Bristol 1

I have no idea how many of my nephews and nieces attended Bristol Universtity but it was more than one. Yet I have never in my life visited Bristol despite the fact that three of my nephews still call it home. So today, ahead of the blipmeet, I jumped on a bus and headed to Bristol.

The bus arrived early so I phoned a nephew when the bus pulled in, he said he'd finish up at work and come to get me. I told him not to rush and so he gave me the name of a pub we could meet in. I really enjoyed wandering about and trying to work out who was most likely to know the pub and be happy to give me directions. I figured that it was probably a young and happening kind of pub so I didn't bother asking people my age, not that there were very many of those hanging about in the city centre at 6:30pm. I found out that there are a surprising number of visitors who, like me, had never been here before and hadn't a clue where anything was. Eventually I hit lucky and found a couple of students who were happy to walk with me round a few corners so that they could point me straight at it, though they didn't come in and join me for a drink.

Nephew was bemused, he had assumed I have a smart device in my pocket with maps and stuff. I like asking people for directions and I like it when people ask me. Google is stopping us interacting on a personal level.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.