The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Citizen Stroud

When I awoke this morning, with Bomble at my head instead of E, the Shepperton red tabby, I dreaded drawing back the curtains. I had become accustomed to gloom.

But lo, the winter had passed and he sun was shining! I took myself off to town to snap the markets and other sights in the sunshine. You cannot believe how relived I was to be back in my home town. All of life is congregated on the pedestrianised High Street on a Saturday. I saw stalls selling artisan cheese, bread, chilli oil, cakes...but this young man behind the Glostay EU stall caught my eye, because of his stance and his green badge reading 'Bollocks to Brexit'.

'I actually voted Leave' he joked as he posed for me. The flag pole looked  too heavy for him. Believe me, sights and scenes such as this, and the silver band playing outside Stroud's Subscription Rooms, would rarely be seen in the Surrey town from which I had just returned. 

And now I must away to watch The Secret Life of Owls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.