But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Portmore Loch.

It was a short cycle today but, the weather was so cold and damp without actually raining, that I arrived home knackered and bl**dy frozen. Lunch stop was officially at Portmore Loch, actually a reservoir, but most of our number went to the Scots Pine cafe to sit by a log fire and wrap themselves around a bowl of warming soup.
 
I particularly wanted to see the loch so started to ride round it. The track was a bit mucky and would have been ridable on two wheels but the third wheel and uneven ground made it rather precarious, a little un-nerving with the water being rather deep, so I parked off piste and walked to the far end. It looks like a good Blipping place for the summer so, maybe, I’ll return.
 
When I reached the Scots Pine, I found the soup and log fire, and even found the new owner, but no cyclists. The soup was nice but the coffee and scones have not improved with the change of staff. The cafe's main attraction has always been its convenient location.
 
At home, I had a nice sleep in the bath before popping down the road to feed Toby, the cat; Mrs T is in respite care for a few weeks, and I had another nice sleep in the armchair with Toby on my lap. I find the cold does have that effect on me. Other effects have been noted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.