But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Yorkie Triptych.

The U3A writing group had an “At Home” this afternoon so I made some cheese scones to eke out the refreshments. Although the time and temperature did not work out right, they tasted o.k. which set me to wondering why so many cafes that bake their own make such a cobblers of them.
 
We are a somewhat disparate quartet: I just take along a few of my Blips, while the ladies write the sort of stories that I couldn’t possibly describe without getting into trouble. It seemed to go off rather well with both hosts and guests wanting to make it an annual event.
 
The camera club had its nature competition in the evening. At the start of the proceedings I had to announce that we would be holding an additional “Skills Evening” before we break up for the summer, and the judge made repeated comments about how important such sessions were as he had noticed that many of the entries could be significantly improved with a little additional skill. The strange thing was that his judgements gave no useful information what-so-ever, his comments varying from, “Nice picture – 15 marks.” all the way up to, “Nice picture – 20 marks.”
 
I’ve had another go at a triptych for the on-line camera club; most of the members don’t seem to have grasped the basic concept that a triptych should consist of three elements that each stand up as a picture and that the combination is greater than the sum of the parts. I have seen an awful lot of pictures of dogs’ heads that make them look as though they’re in cages. I may not be the best in the world when it comes to artistic judgement but, I’ve drummed into Jnr’s head, as I had drummed into mine, that, when taking a test, you must read the question.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.