RobBris50

By RobBris50

Gainsborough Square.

Lockleaze, Bristol. 

This week, there has been a couple of articles in the local press about photography and Bristol. In one article, 'Gentrification by Instagram'  the author accused many local photographers of only concentrating on specific/limited areas of the city and presenting images that have been so sanitised that they are not an accurate representation of the surroundings. There is a part of me that agrees, but in reality many of us wish to capture something eye catching and beautiful. It's very hard to do that when all there is to photograph is a street full of cars etc. Or to put it another way, when we visit the coast we want to take a picture of the beach, not the Tescos on the corner. 

Recently, I've been exploring less 'photogenic' areas of the city, this morning it was Lockleaze.  Not an area I know much about. Is it the best picture I've ever taken? No (the grey, miserable sky didn't help) but I realised today why I go out so early in the morning. It's about being out when the city is deserted. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.