Sunday afternoon drives

I saw this old wharf pile used in landscaping and was immediately taken back to Sunday afternoon drives.

As a family we went to different places in Auckland but mostly we ended up down at the wharves.

In thise days the public could walk onto the wharves and get closer to the ships. Until thr first Peace child was born Dad was a marine engineer and his great love was the sea and all things to do with ships and shipping.

Container shipping was taking over conventional cranes and ships with holds. I remember him telling me how containers revolutionised shipping. He'd point out the line of remaining old style cranes and said that when his ship would return from Hong Kong, it took 3 weeks to unload and another 3 to load. Container ships take a matter of hours.

We'd walk the wharves while Dad explained different types of ships, what they'd be carrying, and what their flag meant.

When I do some landscaping I'd love some old wood from a wharf.

Memories.

Today's gratitude: For the figs I picked from the wee park around the corner. I've enjoyed a fee today and I'll take some with me to enjoy with my sister.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.