Light Painting

I have very little knowledge of artists or paintings but am always fascinated by the use of light in both disciplines.  There really is very little difference between photographers and artists - it's all about composition and use of light - it's just the tools that are different. The artist can choose what to include in the picture - leaving out what is not wanted, adding in what is pleasing, or placing it in exactly the right place - the photographer cannot choose what the camera records - what is there..is there, but things can be removed in post processing - or added.

I have an interesting 'competition' to judge this week for a club in the area where an art club competes against the photography club - one year a photographer judges and the next an artist judges.  I'm not exactly sure what I am required to do but all will be explained; the important thing is that everyone goes away feeling positive and encouraged.

Today I have done an extra day in the House at Waddesdon as they were short of Volunteers; there was plenty of interaction with visitors but not so crowded as to feel congested - I really enjoyed it.  For the first half an hour or so I was able to specifically look at some of the many paintings and consider the use of light.  This is one of my favourite paintings but, of course, I cannot remember the artist.  I have also practised a 'sharpening' technique in PS which is very effective but, as it sharpens the whole image, I worked out a way to add a mask and blur the area I didn't want to sharpen; it's very effective.

Tomorrow is MonoMonday tag: mm221 with the theme of 'Contrasts' - I am looking forward to even more entries than last week!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.