Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Stepped

Quite a long time ago I decided that a length of fence along the edge of our back lawn was redundant and weird, and I took it down/off. That left us with one small step - for man or woman-kind - where there used to be a gate, and otherwise just a (smallish) drop down to the lawn. 

A bit later I pulled up a bunch of brick edging that I also decided wasn't needed. So I had a bunch of bricks, the same as those in the path and on the little step.

Today - finally - with the help of my father-in-law (a retired brickie) I went to the local hardware shop, got a couple of sleepers, some sand, and a little cement. 

A couple of hours later, you see father-in-law (in one of my t-shirts, as he had come down dressed as though for winter...) doing final checks on a few bricks. We were both surprised at how quickly we had managed to finish it.

And it looks just as good as I'd hoped it would. Way better than the random fence did, or the lonely little mini-step once I'd removed the fence. 8)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.