Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Mono Monday: Contrast

Thanks to Chantler63 for hosting.  My link is tenuous - the contrast dye injected into my shoulder for the MRI arthrogram.

We got the bus to The Mall this morning where we needed to catch another bus to the hospital.  We had allowed spare time in case the first bus didn't arrive but when we got to The Mall the bus stop we needed was no longer there, the digital boards inside still had the old bus stop letter and it took us 35 minutes to find out where the buses were actually stopping.  After all that faffing about my shoulder was quite sore (as I was using my crutches) which was not what I wanted just before the MRI scan.

We had about 20 minutes spare, and it was chaos when we got there and they were running 20 minutes late!

The consultant had to use an X-ray to get the needle (and it was a large needle) into the shoulder joint and capsule.  It didn't go as smoothly as usual (apparently about 5% are awkward) and instead of a couple of minutes it took about 25 minutes.  At the time it only hurt once as he used plenty of local anaesthetic, but on the way home it started to wear off and boy was it sore!  I wasn't allowed to drive home and was so glad that Dad had kindly offered to pick us up.  Now just the wait until Friday to find out the results.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.