Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Steve, Neil A and Me

We were invited to our ex-landlady Marian's flat at mid-day for what we thought was a coffee with her and Eva.  It turned out to be a full-blown lunch!  Mozzarella and rocket salad, delicious soup with prawns, coconut, lemongrass and carrots,  then grilled chicken with green asparagus and hollandaise sauce! This was all rustled up by Eva, who's a great cook and would often bring us dishes of food when she came to our flat on Fridays during our time in Budapest.  Bb went to Rudas Turkish Baths in the afternoon and I wandered around the Jewish area and the streets round St Istvan Cathedral. We met up at night with my ex-boss Steve and ex-colleague Neil A. Great to see them, catch up with the news and reminisce!  It sounds as though they still care just as much as when I was there about delivering quality teacher training, trainer development and the trainers' well-being.  I remember I wasn't very happy for quite a while in our early days in Busapest mainly I think because the winter was the worst in 35 years and I missed my work and colleagues in London. Steve tried very hard to help me settle in and I remember him asking me one day, 'Is there anything I can do to make you feel better?' Not many bosses would ask that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.