The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Westonbirt Arboretum

I had a rare opportunity to spend the day with a couple of new Blipper friends last Wednesday in the splendid setting of Westonbirt Arboretum in South Gloucestershire. I joined Clean Steve and woodpeckers at a nearby watering hole and after an introductory chat we adjourned to Westonbirt.

Although it was a rather overcast and misty day the wonderful autumnal colours of the famous maples were undiminished, and seemed to glow against the drab skies. Luckily, we were all agreed that we would like to explore the Old Arboretum as I had concentrated on Silk Wood on my previous visit a year earlier. As we made our way there, we looked at a couple of wooden sculptures which provided some interesting textures and swirly shapes.

The arboretum was abundant with photographic opportunity. In addition to my normal kit I had brought an extra lens with a close-up filter attached, with the intention of getting a macro shot of an acer leaf, and took half a dozen shots with it, and as this was the particular task I had set myself, this is the image I have chosen to share with you. Of course, it isn't only the leaves that are of interest, for example some of the trees had intricate dewy spiders' webs and berries. Occasionally a slight gust of wind would send leaves fluttering to the ground, adding to the soft carpet of colour below, but they were too elusive to catch close up.

The complete set (linked to below) has been up on Flickr for awhile, and one shot which I have post-processed to give a dramatic High Contrast effect, got picked by Explore and had enjoyed over 300 views after a couple of days, and had over three dozen Faves, so although it isn't my favourite shot I have included it in my Alternatives.

It is fascinating how three people in the same place will end up with very different images as their personal expression. Clean Steve chose a representative view of the Acer Glade, whereas woodpeckers used cross-processing to go for a more abstract approach.

After our walk we revived over sandwiches and I had a hot bacon and mushroom baguette, before striking out again to check out the bird hide. No birds to speak of, but, serendipitously, a charming lady from the RSPB with among other items on display,  a soft toy red kite with a built-in very accurate recorded cry.

L.
29.10.2012

Blip #823
Consecutive Blip #036
Day #944

Alternatives:
School Through The Mists
Leaves On Leaves
Pale Leaves
High Contrast

A Trip To Westonbirt Arboretum, 24 October 2012  (Flickr set)

Lens: Pentax 18-55mm (close-up filter +2), Pentax 17-70mm, Sigma 70-300mm

Acer series

Lozarhythms Of The Day:

Robyn Hitchcock - Clean Steve (1990)
Dillinger - Woody Woodpecker (1977)

One year ago: Monday 24 October 2011: Still Life With Maps: I Used To Live In London

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.