horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

I bow to thee

For all of the chasing of 'interesting' birds (and there was a Goldcrest in the garden briefly tonight) it's always nice to get to know the regulars. And I love watching the Woodies at this time of year, with the males 'bowing' as part of the wooing process. There's something almost Austen-novel about it.

Much better end to the day than start, when I got beeped by some self-entitled eejit in a red Merc as we negotiated an offset junction. Apparently I should have been riding further left. And despite there being a car in front (that I'd held back behind, rather than going up the side of, because there wouldn't have been space to the left, and was then keeping pace with); traffic waiting to turn coming the other way; and a hideously uneven surface; and the Merc driver then haring off somewhat in excess of the 20mph limit... That driver will have gone off thinking I'm in the wrong. For some reason it really really bugged me today (oh she also, in haring off, caught the car that had been two in front and had to brake, so she wouldn't have been any further ahead if I had, somehow, been able to let her through).

Took until after lunchtime, and a workshop run by a soon-to-be-former colleague on building a Terrarium, that I settled better into the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.