Jado

By Jado

Stanage Edge

What fabulous weather :-)

I decided to get the train to Hathersage and walk Stanage Edge.  For some reason it is far more enjoyable having a day out by train - and virtually everyone on the first off-peak stopping train from Manchester to Sheffield (via Edale and Hope Valley) is a hiker.

It was hot but I was prepared - sunblock, hat and loads of water.

It is always busy on Stanage Edge - walkers, climbers and, today, loads of paragliders too.  The air ambulance in the blip landed just in front of me - but from what I managed to glean it wasn't a serious injury.  Not sure if it was a climber who'd fallen or a a paraglider who'd crashed.

I did my good deed for the date too.  A Chinese couple (from Nottingham) were asking a climber where Robin Hood's Cave was.  He was telling them to descend the cliff and it was 'somewhere down there'.  I overheard the conversation as I was passing and suggested that they followed me, rather than have an introductory rock climbing course.  They were very pleased I had intervened - it is a bit of a scramble down to the cave, but it is not rock climbing.  I met the same couple later on in Hathersage, which was a rather nice end to the walk.

The extras are a paraglider who got quite close when I was having lunch and a general view of the edge.

Fabulous day - but I am worn out.  The walk was only 10 miles, but there are some steep climbs, and on a hot day like today ...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.